Honesty is the beginning of wisdom

John Ashcroft tells the New York Times that he calls himself a Christian “because I am not good, because I need help.”

Place everything he does in this context, John Ashcroft is a bad man by his own admission. He does not have to continue to be bad, he can become good at will, but he will have to confess more than those things he claims not to do,

Ask about specific “sins,” Ashcroft says he has “never had a mixed drink,” never smoked a cigarette, and if tempted by another woman he would immediately call “my wife.”

So what have you done or been a part of for which you feel such shame, John? We cannot help you, we cannot touch you, we cannot understand unless you will tell us how to relate to you. What have you got on your conscience?

You have much to learn about us, too. You are welcome to read anything I have written, and to respond if you think you should. And if it seems arrogant to some of my readers that I would address myself directly to a person like you, we are none of us too superior to have dialogue. We are in the end, one and together.

Love us, and we shall return love. Hate us, and we shall avoid you, but you are never far from our hearts if you choose to return. There are no children that are so lost as to be incapable of being rescued.

Hat-tip to Jeralyn Merritt.

Leave a comment