Marijuana and the Catholic church

According to The Catholic Warrior, this is their position:

First of all, marijuana is a mind altering drug and will put one into intoxication always when using it. That is an important point, because that distinguishes marijuana from something like beer which can be used without becoming intoxicated. Marijuana however you will always become intoxicated from.
As Christians we can find in the Bible in 1 Corinthians 6:9-10: “Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither the immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor robbers will inherit the kingdom of God.” Drunkenness in intoxication can be achieved through alcohol or other drugs. The Bible is saying here that those people who engage in drunkenness will not enter Heaven. This makes a very clear statement that marijuana can not be compatible with a Christian as marijuana can never be used without abuse.
So there you have it. He just defined “drunkards” as people who use cannabis. People who use beer — and get drunk — they are something else.
This is not my church. I do not recognize it.

15 Responses to “Marijuana and the Catholic church”

  1. Todd Green Says:

    Stephen Gaskin submitted in a brief to the supreme court that because people got higher when they share the same amount of cannabis with more people it must be classified as a sacrament.

  2. Michael Says:

    It is a sacrament to me.

  3. Michael Says:

    Do you have a copy of the brief?

  4. Todd Green Says:

    It’s around somewhere, but I can’t find it just now. His web site is

  5. Todd Green Says:

    It’s around somewhere, but I can’t find it just now. His web site is here

  6. PBXVI Says:

    “People who use beer — and get drunk — they are something else.”

    When did I EVER say such a thing??? Intoxication
    is wrong. It doesn’t matter if it is from alcohol or marijuana.
    Please do not misrepresent me.

  7. Michael Says:

    PBXVI, cannabis does not intoxicate because it is non-toxic and beneficial to health. It cannot produce fatality at any dose. There are no verifiable recorded deaths from cannabis in the history of the world. Why did God give us this plant?

  8. Michael Says:

    I will tell you another thing, this is the tree of life.

  9. cdash Says:

    Hilarious. So they’re saying that beer is not mind-altering because if I only drink one I won’t get drunk? Hey, I’d rather have the guy driving behind me *stoned* than have one beer in him.

  10. Christian Says:

    I think the catholic warrior needs to check his interpretation of the scripture passage he’s quoting. The passage does say “DRUNKARDS” which means people who partake in a behavior of DRUNKENNESS. AND DRUNKENNESS by DEFINITION means :

    Drunk”en*ness\, n. 1. The state of being drunken with, or as with, alcoholic liquor; intoxication; inebriety; — used of the casual state or the habit.

    Last time I checked marijuana isn’t alcoholic (made of alcohol) or TOXIC and you definitely do not drink it (usually, its possible to make cannabis tea)

    So by definition if it is not alcoholic it cannot lead to DRUNKENNESS

  11. im catholic. Says:

    ok first of all.. the person who is talking about the drunkards is stupid. interpertations of the bible have been debated ever since the generation after the writers. and i recently went to confession and asked if weed was bad. the priest replied ,” If it affects you physically and pulls you away from being a good steward of god, then yes” alcohol on the other hand makes us physically weaker, belligerent, and out of control. You know Mel Gibson? the maker of The Passion of Christ? he got totally out of control, belligerent and fucking racist. i see clearly weed is not a harmful drug and actually makes us better stewards of god. high people tend to be nicer and more kind, alot more generous too. im a catholic stoner, and i rest my case.

  12. catholic stoner Says:

    weed is a plant that god gave us, weed is actually good for you people misinterpret the bible too much and take it too literally,

  13. jhood Says:

    God gave us all the seed bearing plants. Marijuana is a seed bearing plant.

  14. John R Says:

    1 I’m Catholic, 2 I consume cannabis. I’m not entirely sure what the teaching of the Catholic Church is on the matter, I know what some people of influence might have said, but that does not make it Church teaching. 2 take EVERYTHING you read on a blog with a grain of salt, no matter if it says “catholic” in the title, or “Jewish” or “Democrat” or “Elvis Impersonators” Ask what their authority is.

    I am looking now for what the official teaching of the Catholic Church is, if it has one other to warn that Abuse, use where illegal, causing scandal (by it’s self mortal); or what other by themselves sinful acts you could make a connection to Maryjane with. If anyone has links that can assist please do so.

    My position until better informed: If and when Legal, safe, non-offensive, Ect. manner, I don’t see why it would be sinful.

    I’m frequently at my Local Veterans hospital, I have several friends who work their, One of them an ER nurse told me “I’ve been abused by drunks that come in here in just about every way I can Imagine, I’ve been hit scratched, pissed on, bitten, had fecal matter thrown at me and a full litany of other offences committed in here by Drunks, people who come in that may be messed up on marijuana watch TV and ask for snack food”


Leave a comment