Couldn’t companies do a better job of advertising recalls?

The Consumerist:

Hey, contact lens wearers, according to a CDC survey, more than half of you have no clue that Advanced Medical Optics recalled their Complete MoisturePlus lens cleaner. The multipurpose solution fails to protect users from an amoeba that can cause acanthamoeba keratitis. Over 25% of users who contracted the infection required a corneal transplant, and if that doesn’t scare you, consider this quote from the CDC:

“This is just as serious as the fusarium outbreak,” said Lola Russell, a spokeswoman for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, referring to an outbreak of fungal eye infections last year that was linked to Bausch & Lomb’s ReNu with MoistureLoc lens cleaners.

Acanthamoeba keratitis

6 Responses to “Couldn’t companies do a better job of advertising recalls?”

  1. 2020 Hindsight » Contact Lens wearer? Read this: Solution recalled Says:

    […] need corneal replacements. Yikes. Gory infected eye picture came from this page on the disease. (via) If that doesn’t give you the squeams, I don’t know what […]

  2. Oh, so that’s where my contact lens solution went « I am the Lizard Queen! Says:

    […] a result, I can’t help but wonder why this is the first I’ve heard about the fact that my usual brand of contact lens solution, the one […]

  3. Top Posts « WordPress.com Says:

    […] Couldn’t companies do a better job of advertising recalls? The Consumerist: Hey, contact lens wearers, according to a CDC survey, more than half of you have no clue that Advanced […] […]

  4. Mentality Says:

    That is crazy! How could such a thing happen without me seeing anything that says that this product is being called back? I think it is because the company does not want to waste any money on it.

  5. Badtux Says:

    *IF* I wore contacts, I would wear daily disposables. Period. However, I won’t wear contacts – or get eye surgery – or otherwise partake of anything more modern than Ben Franklin’s glasses. I may have a penguin’s beady little eyes that can’t see very far, but at least they do see. Which, if the modern medical profession got their hands on them, I have no such assurance that such would continue to be true…

  6. whig Says:

    I like wearing contacts because I can see better with them than with glasses. If they came out and I didn’t have a spare pair with me I’d be legally blind trying to get home, but I suppose glasses can get broken too.


Leave a Reply

